About Us

The Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame was a dream of Lucille Halfvarson and other arts leaders, which took tangible form during the millennium celebrations in Aurora. A series of two-minute history sketches for public TV briefly put the spotlight on violinist Maud Powell, an Aurora girl who a century earlier had the musical world at her feet.

In September of 2000 the newly-formed Aurora Fine Arts Recognition Committee presented a tribute recital to Maud, featuring violinist Kelly Barr of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, herself a native of the Fox Valley. Surveying the standing-room-only crowd, the organizers realized they had a mandate from the community to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of outstanding local artists, past and present.

Within a year the group had evolved into the Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame, a not-for-profit organization.

Inductees into the Hall of Fame are honored with plaques mounted in the exciting landmark Paramount Theatre in Aurora, Illinois. In addition, this website and materials placed in public and school venues offer pictures, biographies and samples of performance of the inducted artists. A Founders Series presents, from time to time, inductees or other accomplished artists in performance or through exhibitions.


Joyce Dlugopolski
Lucille Halfvarson
Sten Halfvarson
Jay Harriman
G. Edward Nelson
Mary Clark Ormond
Roger Parolini
Charlotte Peichl
George Peichl
Susan S. Starrett


The Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame was founded in 2001 to give public recognition to artists associated with the Fox Valley by birth, education, residence, or service who have achieved national or international acclaim and to ensure a strong cultural legacy for future generations. Areas of contribution include: visual arts, performing arts, literary arts, and educator/curator/benefactor. Artists must have twenty years in their profession.
about footer bar2 with copy.psd